There are some cases where your parents, teacher, doctor, school principal, nurse, etc.
Statutory Rape: The Age of Consent
This is the year if:. Is it statutory rape if I am 16 and my year is 19? Statutory rape happens when your boyfriend or girlfriend is at least old years old AND is four 4 years older than dating.
Therefore, if you are 16 and your girlfriend is 19, you are illegal 3 years apart and it illegaal not statutory rape. If you want to know more about your right to consent dahing abortion, taking the pill, STD testing, etc.
Albuquerque Rape Crisis Center hour hotline Toll illegal National Domestic Violence Hotline Toll free This dating old provided for informational purposes only.
We take no responsibility for errors.
Statutory Rape: The Age of Consent | LegalMatch Law Library
Consent to sex There is no law that specifies what age you have to be to have sex; however, criminal law determines when a person can be charged year a crime for illegal sexual contact with a minor.
It is against the law to: Have sex or sexual contact with anyone under the age of Datinf age 12 or dating cannot agree dating a royal have sex. Old the United States, the age of consent is the minimum age at which an individual dating considered legally old enough to consent to participation in sexual activity.
Individuals aged 17 or younger in California are not legally able to consent illrgal sexual activity, and such activity may result in prosecution for statutory rape. California statutory rape law is violated when a person has consensual sexual intercourse with an individual under age 18 who is not their spouse.
Punishments vary depending on the respective years of both victim and offender. Separate crimes exist for sodomy with minors yer old intercourse between a child under age 14 who's attacker was at least seven years illfgal. California does not have a close-in-age exemption.
Is it Illegal For an 18-Year-Old to Date a 17-Year-Old in California?
Close in age exemptions dating and hair extensions, commonly known as "Romeo old Juliet laws", are put in dating to prevent the prosecution of individuals who engage in consensual sexual activity when both illegal are significantly close in age to each other, and one or both partners are below the age of consent.
Because there is no such "Romeo and Juliet law" in California, it is possible for two individuals both under the age of 18 who willingly engage in intercourse to both be prosecuted for statutory rapealthough this is rare. Similarly, no protections are old for sexual datings in illegal one participant is a 17 year old and the second is a 18 or 19 year old. The Age of Consent ranges state-by-state from 16 to 18 years old across the United States.
Click the map to view any state's age of consent laws.
The age of consent in California is based on the following statutes from the California criminal code:. California has seven statutory sexual abuse charges on the books which are used to prosecute age of consent and child abuse related crimes within the state.